Day 4: Jealous Dog Blues

NaPoWriMo gives a lyric-writing prompt today for the blues. Can’t miss that one. ;)  I chose traditional blues form, 12-bar with repeating first lines.
I love how blues is grounded in real life, gritty life.  Eternal truths & pain that can’t be taught, except at hard knocks U. And I love the irony and tongue-in-cheek of early blues lyrics- kidding, but not really.

This verse is inspired by a joke I share with someone, (since I started dating you, no one calls me anymore.) But it went somewhere else. Not sure why I’m flanked by junkyard Muses now…

Since you got my number, my phone don’t ring no more.
Since you got my number, my phone don’t ring no more.
Yah, you ring it sometimes, but no one’s knockin’ at my door.

‘Cause you’re puffed up proud and growling, newest dog in town.
Yah, you’re puffed up proud and growling, newest dog in town.
But you’re talkin’ so much trash, my true friends won’t come around.

Chorus:
Why’d you change your status? Why’d you send my pictures round?
You only got my digits, I’m not your lost and found!

Oh- Junkyard dog snap out of it! Cause I’m not yours to prowl.
Yah, junk yard dog, snap out of it! No, I’m not yours to prowl.
‘Cause there’s barbed wire on that chicken coop, to make you moan & howl.

© 2012 Tara Linda

barbed wire

barbed wire (Photo credit: flo2night)

If I get a chance, I’ll sing/record & post later ;)

Today, I’m working on press releases for the new CD, & booking Europe tour…will post more on that soon.

Thoughts, Comments, Feedback, Advice-- Welcome

